2 Nov 2006

Welsh golfers rich vein of form on the international fairways continued in some style this week as Rhys Davies, Nigel Edwards and Llewellyn Matthews steered Wales to a stunning fourth place finish at the World Amateur Team Championships in Stellenbosch, South Africa (26-29 October 2006).

The Celtic contingent produced their best finish in the competition to date following their previous seventh place finish in 2004. Their top 5 finish with a 17 under par score cemented their stature as the leading home nation, trouncing England and Scotland into a tied sixth position and Ireland tied at 9th.

The Netherlands outfit secured the Eisenhower Trophy with a final score of 22 under par at amateur golf’s largest international event. Canada and the USA took second and third spots respectively.

The Welsh effort was spearheaded by a striking performance by Sports Council for Wales’ Elite Cymru star Rhys Davies from Bridgend. Widely regarded as international golf’s next big thing, the 21 year old shot the low round of the championship - an 8-under-par 64 - which is one stroke off the lowest round in championship history (63 from Jason Dawes of Australia in 1994).RHYS DAVIES SMALL

Currently blazing a trail across the fairways of the U.S.A, Davies continues to rip up the East Tennessee State University record books as he goes. He has been a firm fixture on the leader-boards during his years at the American college - the breeding ground for golfing luminaries such as Tiger Woods and Luke Donald in the past.

His eight career event wins – the latest of which came at the ninth annual Bank of Tennessee Intercollegiate tournament at the Ridges Golf and Country Club, Jonesborough - have seen him capture the University’s record for individual tournament wins. He also finished the 2005-2006 season ranked No.4 nationally on the ‘Golfweek’ Sagarin individual ranking list.

The Royal Porthcawl player was making his second appearance in the Eisenhower Trophy following his debut in Puerto Rico in 2004. He has previously won the British Boys Championship in 2003 has played in two Palmer Cups and the 2005 Walker Cup in Chicago and recently went undefeated for Great Britain & Ireland in the St Andrews Trophy in the Czech Republic.

Davies’ World Amateur Championship effort was ably flanked by Elite Cymru stablemate Nigel Edwards from Caerphilly who was making his third Eisenhower Trophy appearance.

Earlier this year the Whitchurch Golf Club player, 38 won the South African Amateur Championship over the courses being used for the Eisenhower Trophy and then secured another international victory in the Sherry Cup at Sotogrande. Edwards has played in three Walker Cups (2001, 2003 & 2005) and three St Andrews Trophy teams (2002, 2004 & 2006).

Making his debut in the World Amateur Championships, Llewellyn Mathews from Southerndown won the Welsh Amateur Championship in August this year – notably defeating Davies on the final green of the 36 hole final. This victory was his most significant performance of the year but in addition he led the qualifiers in the Amateur Championship at Royal St George’s.

Head of National Governing Body Services at the Sports Council for Wales, Sarah Powell Said:

"This is an exceptional achievement for Welsh Golf and is further testament of how Wales is continuing to set the benchmarks of success on the golfing fairways of the world as we look forward to hosting the Ryder Cup in 2010. Our golfers – both men and women – continue to be great ambassadors for Welsh sport and their successes firmly establish the fact that Wales can compete with the best in sport, both on the national and international stage."

For further information, please contact Lynette Evans at the Sports Council for Wales on /

The Welsh women’s team finished tied at 20 in their equivalent World Amateur Women’s Team Championship (October 18-21 2006).

Breanne Loucks (Wrexham), Sahra Hassan (Vale of Glamorgan) and Tara Davies (Holyhead) made up the team.

The Welsh women’s team finished tied at 20 in their equivalent World Amateur Women’s Team Championship (October 18-21 2006).

Breanne’s last round score of four under par elevated the team to twentieth position which secured them an invitation to the prestigious Spirit Trophy.


Rhys Davies – Royal Porthcawl
Nigel Edwards – Whitchurch (Cardiff)
Llewellyn Matthews – Southerndown
Non Travelling Reserve: Cennydd Mills – Vale of Glamorgan
Non Playing Captain: Jeff Toye - Radyr