9 Jun 2009

The cream of Welsh tennis talent – on and off the court – has been recognised on the shortlists for the Tennis Wales awards. (Taken from Tennis Wales)

Finalists have been announced in the six award categories to find the top volunteer, leader/assistant coach, coach, club or centre, team, and player.

Tennis Wales, the governing body for tennis in Wales, is organising the 2009 Tennis Wales Awards, to be presented at a special celebration evening at the Liberty Stadium, Swansea on July 18.

tennis abergavenny picture"This will be the third year for the awards, and again they offer a great opportunity to recognise and reward the real ‘stars’ of the sport – not just players, but officials, volunteers, coaches and clubs and centres too," said Tennis Wales chief executive Peter Hybart.

"It’s a chance for the thousands of people involved in tennis in Wales to join in a real celebration of the talent and dedication which exists in our sport. I’m very pleased to say that we have again received a very encouraging response from every corner of Wales."

Chair of the Sports Council for Wales, Philip Carling said, "It is extremely encouraging to see the strength and depth in tennis across Wales and these awards are a fitting tribute to the hard work of all those involved. Tennis Wales is developing quality opportunities for community involvement right through to elite competition."

Finalists are:


Anthea Thomas (South Wales County Cup)

Ann Powell (South Wales League and Competitions Committee)

Kay Griffiths (Cardiff Stars learning difficulties club)

Leader/Assistant Coach

Sean Jones (Abergavenny)

Josh Ford (Newport Centre)

Alex Harvey (Newport Centre)

Dimitri Lekkas (Newport Centre)

Josh Ali (Newport Centre)


Dan Sanders (Wrexham Centre)

Vicki Broadbent (Mold)

Katherine Maddock-Lyon (David Lloyd Cardiff)


Wrexham Centre

David Lloyd Cardiff



North Wales Ladies Summer County Cup team

South Wales Men’s Winter County Cup team

Wales 14U Four Nations winners


Phil Cochrane (Cwmbran)

Evan Hoyt (Llanelli)

Safiyyah Azeez (Dinas Powys)

Winners will be announced on the night, along with the winner of the award for outstanding contribution to tennis in Wales.

Tickets are now on sale at £25 for the evening which will include a hot buffet and presentation ceremony, and sponsorship packages are also being offered.

Information on the awards and the dinner is available from Tennis Wales at 029 20 463335 or www.tenniswales.org.uk