Active Young People

Foundation Phase


The Foundation Phase Framework for Children’s Learning for 3-7 year-olds in Wales becomes a legal requirement by means of an Order made by the Welsh Assembly Government for Wales and comes into effect in September 2008 for all 3-4 year-olds. The statutory Areas of Learning in the Foundation Phase are:

  • Personal and Social Development, Well-being and Cultural Diversity
  • Language, Literacy and Communication Skills
  • Mathematical Development
  • Welsh Language Development
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Creative Development

For each Area of Learning the educational programme sets out what children should be taught and the outcomes set out the expected standards of children’s performance.

Focus Areas & Priorities

Recognising that the ethos of the Foundation Phase is ‘holistic’ with all seven Areas of Learning being complementary, our approach will reflect this, whilst acknowledging that our remit is to focus on specific areas within the new curriculum. Our remit is limited to the delivery of the SCW Active Young People (AYP) programmes in general and more specifically, to raising standards in physical education and increasing participation in sport and physical activity.

The main focus, therefore, will be:

  • Physical Development
  • Creative Movement (within the Creative Development Area of Learning)

The subsidiary focus will cover elements of:

  • Personal and Social Development and Wellbeing (within the Personal and Social Development, Wellbeing and Cultural Diversity Area of Learning)

Current Status

Update November 2008 English Welsh