Latest News


24 Nov 2008

Rising stars from the world of gymnastics were present at the prestigious National Awards dinner, held in Cardiff on Saturday 22nd of November. The gala night, hosted in the glamorous setting of the Mercure Holland House Hotel, was a stunning celebration and recognition of the achievements, dedication and hard work of all the athletes throughout the year; and these elements are the ones that ensure Welsh Gymnastics goes from strength to strength every year.

Several key persons in the world of sport attended, such as Liz Nichol, performance director of UK Sport; Bev Smith, Director of Sports of Coach UK; Brian Stocks, CEO of British Gymnastics; and Brian Davies, High Performance Manager of Sport Council for Wales.

Welsh Gymnastics would like to extend a heartfelt thanks to the sponsors. Their support ensures such a prestigious event continues to promote the work of our volunteers, coaches and gymnasts. The headline sponsor, for the second year in a row, was Tremorfa, while the other supporters were Dolmans Solicitors, Strachan Sports Travel, Gymnova, Milano, Premier Inns, Glamorgan Telecom, GE, Cypress Business Centre, Mercure Holland House Hotel and City of Swansea Gym Club.

Pictures of the event are available on request from David McNally, CEO of Welsh Gymnastics (e-mail: ).

The full list of the award winners is as follows:

Most promising gymnast of the year:

Womens Artistic - Angel Romaeo (Cardiff);

Aerobics - Ellie Spooner;

Tumbling - Emily Jackson (West Street, Swansea);

Acro - Sanant Evans & Elan Williams (Moelwyn Gym Club, Blaenau);

Mens Artistic - Joseph Rowland (Barry);

Rhythmic - Nikara Jenkins (Llanelli);

Trampolining - Amy Morris (Pencoed, Bridgend).

Volunteer of the year:

Paul Hughes (Haverfordwest Gym Club).

Club of the year:

City of Swansea Gymnastics Club.

Schools gymnast of the year:

Abigail Collett (Cardiff).

Disability gymnast of the year:

Gareth Lloyd (Barry).

Gymnast of the year:

Rhythmic - Francesca Jones;

Acro - Emilie Hanley & Alex Scott (Saltney Gym Club, Deeside);

Aerobics - Kate Barley;

Trampolining - Mark Samuels (UWIC, Cardiff);

Tumbling - Sharnah Evans (Deeside Gymnastics Club);

Mens Artistic - Nathan Mullett (Barry);

Womens Artistic - Lizzie Beddoe (Cardiff).

Coach of the year:

Ernie Cookson (Deeside Gymnastics Club).

Audrey Bates Award

Melanie Roberts, recently retired Welsh and Great Britain International, for recognition of her achievements in Women’s Artistic Gymnastics.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Eileen Budd (Cardiff) for over 35 years work in Gymnastics as a volunteer, coach, officer and still technical chair for Sports Acrobatics.

Welsh Gymnastics is the sport’s National Governing Body in Wales and serves 80 clubs and more than 10,000 gymnasts taking part in eight different disciplines (Women’s Artistic Gymnastics, Men’s Artistic Gymnastics, Rhythmic Gymnastics, Sports Acrobatics, Trampolining, Sports Aerobics, Tumbling & General Gymnastics).