20 Aug 2007

The once untouchable Hackett finished in seventh position at the World Championships - ending his decade long unbeaten streak in the event.

The man himself now says that - for almost the first time in his international career - he is now the hunter, not the hunted and he more than anyone will be looking to the Japan Open as a real indicator of his current form.

"I’m coming from a position that I’ve never been in before so it’s hard to judge where I’m at but I want to have an open mindset about it and go out there and follow my race plans and learn from the racing again," he said.

"I think a lot of the top competitors will be there considering this is probably the biggest meet that we’ll have at the back end of this year and it’ll be a good opportunity to get in there and race the top guys.

"I was beaten at the World Championships and so now I am doing the chasing, not the other way around and that’s the way I look at it."

Both Hackett and Davies will line up in the 1500m heats and finals on Friday 24th August 2007.

Wales’ Jemma Lowe also takes up her position among the female contingent.


Lowe, 17 – whose father comes from Cardiff – recently become the first Welsh woman to hold a British swimming record for 30 years.

In 58.91sec, she shaved 0.11sec off the national standard over 100m butterfly to win the 16-17 years age group title at the British Swimming championships in Sheffield, then lowered the standard again less than two hours later with a 58.73sec effort that left her just shy of the all-time top 25 best performers list. She then went on to secure gold in 100m Butterfly.

For more information about the 2007 Japan International Swim Meet, go to http://www.japan2007.org/eng/index.html

The Japan Open Meet takes place 21st to 24th August in Chiba. The British team comprises:

Kirsty Balfour - City of Edinburgh
Julia Beckett - Loughborough University
Rebecca Cooke - City of Glasgow
Jess Dickons - Borough of Stockton
Ellen Gandy - Beckenham
Fran Halsall - City of Liverpool
Kate Haywood - Loughborough University
Jo Jackson - Derwentside
Jemma Lowe - Borough of Stockton
Caitlin McClatchey - Loughborough University Hannah Miley - Garioch Lizzie Simmonds - Lincoln Vulcans

Matt Clay - Swansea Performance
Chris Cook - City of Newcastle
Todd Cooper - Stirling Swimming
David Davies - City of Cardiff
Kris Gilchrist - City of Edinburgh
James Goddard - Stockport Metro
Ben Hockin - Swansea Performance
Darren Mew - University of Bath
Gregor Tait - City of Edinburgh
Liam Tancock - Loughborough University

For further details contact Dave Richards, British Swimming Media Manager, on , or email <mailto:>

Or Lynette Evans at the Sports Council for Wales on /